David W. Friedman
David W. Friedman
Ain't It Strange
1
0:00
-6:35

Ain't It Strange

A zissen Pesach to you all and a happy birthday to Erin.
1

First, just so all of you know, I spent many days and hours learning how to record drums. I still don’t know how to sequence them. Next lesson. This song is difficult to do all the parts, but fun for the guitars.

I love the Patti Smith Group. I saw Lenny Kaye’s band at WREX in Belltown, Seattle in August 1981 before I returned to New York to live with Mom in The Bronx. I fled in August 1982 back to Eugene and with Ron started The Evolutionary Dance. That year I traded my Gibson The Paul guitar and a Peavey 112 amp for a 1971 Fender Precision Bass. I’ve been a bass player most of my musical “career.”

This song was a bitch to record. I did multiple takes of all the tracks, because I had a corrupt cheat sheet of the song. Then I wasn’t happy with most of it. Complete shit. The drums took three days to get to a semblance of time. It’s still a mess. Consider this a rough demonstration recording.

I was recording the vocals and singing really loud and the neighbors called the manager. It was noon today. WTF? So I sang softly. Not as effective. Sigh.

Next song will be something easier.

Shalom!

1 Comment
David W. Friedman
David W. Friedman
Authors
David W. Friedman